Brisbane Universities

Brisbane Universities, at the University of Qld

Brisbane universities are a mix of private and publicly funded schools that take students from around the world.

Higher education is a major employer and industry across Australia.

So it stands to reason that there would be numerous Brisbane universities in and around the city.

Most of the universities have a high quota of international students and many of them also have numerous campuses in overseas locations.

In 1988 a National Unified system for Tertiary Education was introduced. Many colleges and more specialized schools became part of various universities, and this increased numbers of students and campuses over night.

Government changes also came in that allowed students to repay their university fees as part of the taxation system.

This change was also designed to increase the number of students attending university.

Shown below is some information on the principal universities, in no particular order.

University of Queensland

Brisbane Universities, UQ St Lucia campus

The beautiful St. Lucia campus of the University of Queensland, is upriver of Brisbane.

It is situated on land next to the river. It is the last stop when you travel up river on the CityCat river boat.

The campus has sports facilities, such as tennis courts and sports fields, as well as the academic halls and Quad.

Read more about the University of Queensland in this article that is dedicated to UQ University.

Queensland University of Technology - QUT

QUT was one of the first Brisbane universities; it started out as the Brisbane School of Arts in 1849, which had a large emphasis on teacher training. The tradition of education continues to day with Bachelor of Education being one of its most successful programs.

Brisbane Universities, bridge near UofQ St Lucia campus

QUT was formed in 1965. This came about as a result of the merging, over the years, of 12 other institutions.

The emphasis of the school is still based on some of its former technical schools.

Practical education and job training are highlights of the university.

It has 4 campuses which have 40,000 students across them. Two of the campuses are in central Brisbane area, one in downtown Brisbane... while the other two serve the outer suburbs and the sunshine coast.

Griffith University

Brisbane Universities, Griffith University on the South Bank

Griffith University is one of the newer Brisbane universities.

It was founded in 1971 to help better serve the Gold Coast area of the state.

It also has a reputation of leading the way in environmental sciences and international relations.

Since beginning with just 451 students and one campus, the university now has five campuses. They stretch between Brisbane... the Griffith university conservatorium is here, and the Gold Coast and have over 37,000 students.

Bond University

Bond University was another university which started on the Gold Coast. It was started to serve the ever growing population there.

In 1989 it started with 322 students as Australia's first private, non-profit, university and has since grown into a leading provider of in-demand programs.

Australian Catholic University

Brisbane Universities, Peace Temple

The Australian Catholic University was formed, following the unifying of tertiary schools across the country.

This was the result of merging colleges in the major cities in eastern Australia.

These schools each had origins in Catholic schools.

They had been designed to help to provide training to people looking for employment within Catholic schools and hospitals.

From those beginnings the Australian Catholic Universities have expanded to include the full range of tertiary programs, while still incorporating the values of the original colleges.

University of Southern Queensland

The University of Southern Queensland aka USQ is another university that has risen from the amalgamation of various colleges and smaller universities. The main campus is now situated on the Sunshine Coast. However it also has two other campuses and is one of the main providers of distance education.

Over 75% of its students studying off-campus and because of this USQ has allowed more people access to tertiary education. A large percentage of its student population is made up of mature students, people from remote areas, and those from socio-ecomonically disadvantaged backgrounds.

James Cook University

James Cook University... aka JCU, is not one of the Brisbane universities, as it is located in north Queensland. It is included here for completeness. JCU began in 1970 in Townsville to serve the tropical northern regions of Queensland.

The university is dedicated to research in topics that affect the tropical region including global warming, ecosystems, and agriculture. The university has since expanded to seven campuses and over 20 specialist research stations.

Central Queensland University

Brisbane Universities, UQ St Lucia campus

First established in 1967 to serve the students in rural and remote regions of the outback CQ has grown to be an international university.

It has campuses as far away as Singapore and Fiji and as close as Brisbane.

Because of the remote nature of many of its first students CQ has continued the tradition of providing high quality distance education, introducing video lectures as early as 1987.

The university now has international students from over 100 countries and continues to expand across the central region of Queensland, more here.

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave me your thoughts in the box below.